How did your county councillor vote in 2023 council tax setting? Click here to view

Powys Schools

Motion or resolution considered by Powys County Council

This motion was heard on 08/12/2022. It was proposed by Elwyn Vaughan and seconded by Bryn Davies .

Motion as voted upon

Concerns have been raised by fellow council members, parents and members of the public following the possibility of reducing the schooling week down to just 4 days has and is being considered by the authority as a mitigation action against rising energy costs and budget pressures.

We note that Estyn stated in their 2021-2022 Annual report-

· Overall, learners’ skills have been negatively impacted by the pandemic. This is especially the case for numeracy and literacy skills, particularly oracy skills. The social and personal skills of a minority of learners have also been affected, especially the youngest children and those who have struggled to settle back in to more ‘normal’ educational routines.

· Learners’ use of spoken Welsh generally declined as a result of the pandemic.

· Restrictions have had a negative impact on learning involving practical elements, including work placements, practical assessments for vocational qualifications and subjects such as music, design and technology and physical education.

· Overall, the progress providers are making towards implementation of the Curriculum for Wales is too variable.

· Across all sectors, there has been a notable increase in demand for well-being and mental health support.

· Attendance, in schools in particular, continues to be below pre-pandemic levels and persistent absence issues have increased

The cost of living crisis is effecting us all and families are facing significant pressures already, this type of idea, even if just a concept at this stage, is un-helpful, ill thought out and one that if carried through would may significantly harm our young people and will only add to home pressures.

In view of these negative findings from Estyn, the importance of supporting our young people, the recognition that budget / financial pressures are not only on the council and the need to ensure a full and proper impact assessment on the Welsh language and Welsh language education in accordance with Welsh Government’s School Organisation Code is carried out before making any changes -

Council accepts the importance of a 5 day attendance at our schools and that no school in Powys should be asked to reduce their school week to 4 days as a result of the councils budget proposals.

For - 55
Abstained - 1

Result: Passed
Vote Requirement: Simple Majority

  Voting Record

Below is the individual voting record for all councillors on this motion/resolution.

Name Ward Party Vote
Baynham, Beverley Presteigne  Independent Group For
Bebb, Danny Churchstoke  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Beecham, Matt Crickhowell with Cwmdu and Tretower  Non-Affiliated Did not vote
Beecham, Sarah-Jane Crickhowell with Cwmdu and Tretower  Non-Affiliated Did not vote
Berriman, Jake Llandrindod North  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Breeze, Ben Kerry  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Breeze, Graham Welshpool Llanerchyddol  Independent Group For
Brighouse, Little Disserth and Trecoed with Newbridge  Non-Affiliated Did not vote
Brignell-Thorp, Jeremy Forden and Montgomery  Non-Affiliated For
Cartwright, Anita Talybont-on-Usk  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Did not vote
Charlton, Jackie Llangattock and Llangynidr  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Church, Richard Welshpool Castle  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Colbert, Tom Bronllys and Felin-fach  Non-Affiliated For
Cox, Sian Llangors with Bwlch  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Did not vote
Davies, Aled Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant and Llansilin  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Davies, Angela Rhayader  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Davies, Bryan Llanafanfawr with Garth  Independents for Powys Group For
Davies, Bryn Banwy, Llanfihangel and Llanwddyn  Plaid Cymru Group For
Davies, Sandra Cwm-twrch  Welsh Labour Group Did not vote
Dorrance, Matthew Brecon West  Welsh Labour Group For
Edwards, Deb Llangunllo with Norton  Non-Affiliated For
Ewing, Josie Llandrindod South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
George, Les Caersws  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Gibson-Watt, James Glasbury  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Harrison, Ian Guilsfield  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Healy, Kelly Newtown Central and South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Hulme, Heulwen Rhiwcynon  Independent Group For
James, Peter Llanwrtyd Wells  Independent Group For
Jenner, Amanda Trelystan and Trewern  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Johnson-Wood, Claire Llanyre with Nantmel  Independents for Powys Group For
Jones, Adrian Berriew and Castle Caereinion  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Jones, Arwel Llandysilio  Independent Group For
Jones, Ed Old Radnor  Independents for Powys Group For
Jones, Gareth D Llanfair Caereinion and Llanerfyl  Independent Group For
Jones, Gareth E Llanelwedd  Independents for Powys Group For
Jones, Joy Newtown East  Non-Affiliated For
Kennerley, Adam Newtown North  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Kenyon-Wade, Corinna Knighton with Beguildy  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Abstained
Lewington, Pete Newtown West  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Lewis, Karl Llandinam with Dolfor  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Lewis, Peter Llanfyllin  Welsh Conservatives Group Did not vote
Lloyd, William Gwernyfed  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
McIntosh, Iain Yscir with Honddu Isaf and Llanddew  Welsh Conservatives Group For
McNicholas, Susan Ynyscedwyn  Welsh Labour Group For
Meredith, David Brecon West  Welsh Labour Group For
Mitchell, Gary Llanbrynmair  Plaid Cymru Group For
Morgan, Gareth Llanidloes  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Morgan, Geoff Ithon Valley  Non-Affiliated Did not vote
Powell, William Talgarth  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Preston, Glyn Llanidloes  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Pugh, Gareth Dolforwyn  Welsh Conservatives Group Did not vote
Pugh, Jeremy Builth  Independents for Powys Group Did not vote
Ratcliffe, Gareth Hay  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Did not vote
Rijnenberg, Liz Brecon East  Welsh Labour Group For
Roberts, Lucy Llandrinio  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Roberts, Pete Llandrindod South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Robinson, Carol Welshpool Gungrog  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Roderick, Edwin Maescar and Llywel  Independent Group For
Selby, David Newtown Central and South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Thomas, David Tawe Uchaf  Welsh Labour Group For
Thomas, Gwynfor Llansantffraid  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Vaughan, Elwyn Glantwymyn  Plaid Cymru Group For
Walsh, Chris Brecon East  Welsh Labour Group For
Wilkinson, Jonathan Llangyniew and Meifod  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Williams, Ange Knighton with Beguildy  Independents for Powys Group For
Williams, Huw Aber-craf and Ystradgynlais  Welsh Labour Group For
Williams, Michael Machynlleth  Independent Group For
Williams, Sarah Aber-craf and Ystradgynlais  Welsh Labour Group Did not vote

Source: Voting Record