How did your county councillor vote in 2023 council tax setting? Click here to view

School Transport

Motion or resolution considered by Powys County Council

This motion was heard on 13/10/2022. It was proposed by Lucy Roberts and seconded by Adrian Jones .

Motion as voted upon

In recent months there have been a number of appeals made to the School Transport Team with regard to access to free home to school transport. Residents have been in touch with their County Councillors and Senedd representatives asking for support. The appeals have most frequently arisen from changes to catchment allocations, historical precedents and reduced flexibility but include:

[*] Younger siblings only provided free transport to a school which is different to the one their older sibling attends because the catchments have been changed.

[*] Problems with the way GIS is used to identify the closest school with some school buses travelling through another catchment on route to school.

[*] The system used to calculate the shortest route from home to school does not consider the route that the school bus travels, or even the most practical, driveable route by car.

[*] Pupils who are neighbours and/or close friends being forced to attend different schools because the boundary between catchments is being very strictly enforced with no room for overlap.

The effect of this has been to create unnecessary stress for pupils and their parents and will in some cases, where parents have the time and financial resource, result in parents following the bus into school, unnecessarily increasing carbon footprints.

The Council calls on the School Transport and Education Services to ensure that the current review of the Home to School Transport Policy not only delivers greater clarity for pupils/student’s entitlement to free transport but also supports greater parental choice of school, where this can be done without increasing the total school transport budget.

For - 58

Result: Passed
Vote Requirement: Simple Majority

  Voting Record

Below is the individual voting record for all councillors on this motion/resolution.

Name Ward Party Vote
Baynham, Beverley Presteigne  Independent Group For
Bebb, Danny Churchstoke  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Beecham, Matt Crickhowell with Cwmdu and Tretower  Non-Affiliated Did not vote
Beecham, Sarah-Jane Crickhowell with Cwmdu and Tretower  Non-Affiliated For
Berriman, Jake Llandrindod North  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Breeze, Ben Kerry  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Breeze, Graham Welshpool Llanerchyddol  Independent Group For
Brighouse, Little Disserth and Trecoed with Newbridge  Non-Affiliated For
Brignell-Thorp, Jeremy Forden and Montgomery  Non-Affiliated For
Cartwright, Anita Talybont-on-Usk  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Charlton, Jackie Llangattock and Llangynidr  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Church, Richard Welshpool Castle  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Did not vote
Colbert, Tom Bronllys and Felin-fach  Non-Affiliated For
Cox, Sian Llangors with Bwlch  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Davies, Aled Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant and Llansilin  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Davies, Angela Rhayader  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Davies, Bryan Llanafanfawr with Garth  Independents for Powys Group For
Davies, Bryn Banwy, Llanfihangel and Llanwddyn  Plaid Cymru Group For
Davies, Sandra Cwm-twrch  Welsh Labour Group For
Dorrance, Matthew Brecon West  Welsh Labour Group For
Edwards, Deb Llangunllo with Norton  Non-Affiliated For
Ewing, Josie Llandrindod South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Did not vote
George, Les Caersws  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Gibson-Watt, James Glasbury  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Harrison, Ian Guilsfield  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Healy, Kelly Newtown Central and South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Did not vote
Hulme, Heulwen Rhiwcynon  Independent Group For
James, Peter Llanwrtyd Wells  Independent Group For
Jenner, Amanda Trelystan and Trewern  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Johnson-Wood, Claire Llanyre with Nantmel  Independents for Powys Group Did not vote
Jones, Adrian Berriew and Castle Caereinion  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Jones, Arwel Llandysilio  Independent Group For
Jones, Ed Old Radnor  Independents for Powys Group For
Jones, Gareth D Llanfair Caereinion and Llanerfyl  Independent Group For
Jones, Gareth E Llanelwedd  Independents for Powys Group Did not vote
Jones, Joy Newtown East  Non-Affiliated Did not vote
Kennerley, Adam Newtown North  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Kenyon-Wade, Corinna Knighton with Beguildy  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Lewington, Pete Newtown West  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Lewis, Karl Llandinam with Dolfor  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Lewis, Peter Llanfyllin  Welsh Conservatives Group Did not vote
Lloyd, William Gwernyfed  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
McIntosh, Iain Yscir with Honddu Isaf and Llanddew  Welsh Conservatives Group For
McNicholas, Susan Ynyscedwyn  Welsh Labour Group For
Meredith, David Brecon West  Welsh Labour Group For
Mitchell, Gary Llanbrynmair  Plaid Cymru Group For
Morgan, Gareth Llanidloes  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Did not vote
Morgan, Geoff Ithon Valley  Non-Affiliated For
Powell, William Talgarth  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Preston, Glyn Llanidloes  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Pugh, Gareth Dolforwyn  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Pugh, Jeremy Builth  Independents for Powys Group For
Ratcliffe, Gareth Hay  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Rijnenberg, Liz Brecon East  Welsh Labour Group For
Roberts, Lucy Llandrinio  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Roberts, Pete Llandrindod South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Robinson, Carol Welshpool Gungrog  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group Did not vote
Roderick, Edwin Maescar and Llywel  Independent Group For
Selby, David Newtown Central and South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Thomas, David Tawe Uchaf  Welsh Labour Group For
Thomas, Gwynfor Llansantffraid  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Vaughan, Elwyn Glantwymyn  Plaid Cymru Group For
Walsh, Chris Brecon East  Welsh Labour Group For
Wilkinson, Jonathan Llangyniew and Meifod  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Williams, Ange Knighton with Beguildy  Independents for Powys Group For
Williams, Huw Aber-craf and Ystradgynlais  Welsh Labour Group For
Williams, Michael Machynlleth  Independent Group For
Williams, Sarah Aber-craf and Ystradgynlais  Welsh Labour Group For

Source: Voting Record